• Refine Query
  • Source
  • Publication year
  • to
  • Language
  • 3397
  • 1635
  • 512
  • 487
  • 253
  • 227
  • 93
  • 81
  • 81
  • 81
  • 81
  • 81
  • 78
  • 78
  • 65
  • Tagged with
  • 8545
  • 1400
  • 1294
  • 1076
  • 995
  • 981
  • 617
  • 591
  • 568
  • 528
  • 524
  • 504
  • 471
  • 461
  • 401
  • About
  • The Global ETD Search service is a free service for researchers to find electronic theses and dissertations. This service is provided by the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations.
    Our metadata is collected from universities around the world. If you manage a university/consortium/country archive and want to be added, details can be found on the NDLTD website.

Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra

Schaffner, Matthew Scott 08 November 2002 (has links)
Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra (2002) is a three-movement composition for orchestra and solo trumpet. Each movement has a prominent theme, although there are themes that pervade the entire composition. The main element in the work is a two-note rhythmic statement. This two-note statement unifies the piece. Another prominent idea is a pitch collection of three consecutive minor seconds and their inversions. The first movement, Incipience, begins with a slow foreshadowing of the works main themes. Following the introduction is a quick fanfare that leads back to the opening material. A trumpet cadenza develops from the introductory ideas, which leads back to the fanfare section. Much of the second movement, Departure, relies on material from Leonel Powers mass Alma Redemtoris Mater. Two contrasting themes can be heard. The first is material from the Power mass, while the second theme is a polyrhythmic arpeggiation in a distantly related key. The juxtaposition of the two themes creates a polytonal effect. The last movement implements ideas from the first two movements. Resolve uses five varying sections that are used in an ABCDA´B´C´E form. The opening A section uses a call and response idea with a rhythmic cell providing the basic material. The B section is fugal, reminiscent of the first movements B section. One melodic theme permeates the C section, which develops material around that single melody. The D section is a cadenza which combines previous solo material from each movement. The composition returns to the very opening of the entire work in the E section, which uses ideas from the first movements opening statement.

Piano Concerto

Wong, Kei Hong 29 September 2014 (has links)
This thirteen-minute concerto explores the concept of the "third-stream" style, a genre prevalent from the early twentieth century onward that explores the fusion of classical and the popular idioms. The piano writing, especially in the cadenza, is greatly influenced by George Gershwin's Piano Concerto in F, one of the most representative works in this style due to its jazzy syncopated rhythms and romantic pianistic writing. In addition to the traditional orchestral instrumentation, this piece includes several drum set solos, recalling some of the percussive passages from Leonard Bernstein's West Side Story, a musical theater work evoking jazz and Latin styles. This piece also draws influence from the contemporary group Bad Plus Trio, embracing the avant-garde jazz style apparent in 1972 Bronze Medalist from the album "These Are the Vistas."


Hilliard, John Stanley 01 January 1972 (has links)
This thesis statement presents an analysis and explanation of a music composition entitled: Magnificat. The full music score to the Magnificat may be found in the collection of the Music Department of the School of the Arts, Virginia Commonwealth University. The King James Version is the source for all of Biblical text. The presentation here of the text for the Magnificat corresponds to the manner it is introduced into the music score. Thus, the use of small case primarily to contrast those parts of the text of high volume intensity which are capitalized, and parallel text to show simultaneous reading.

Jazz band arranging : original big band arrangements

Byron, Jay M. 01 April 1999 (has links)
This paper examines five big band arrangements written during a period of two semesters from 1998-1999. I will provide an overview and performance considerations for each arrangement. Each arrangement uses common conventions such as unison lines, octave doubling, four and five part voicings, found in closed, semi-open, and open position. Approach techniques include diatonic, dominant, diminished, chromatic, and parallel. Choice was based primarily on two considerations: desired texture and the best voice leading options identified to provide each part with a swinging line and maintain melodic integrity. Other conventions applied include chord substitution, upper structure triads, and altered and diminished scales to provide harmonic contrast and color. Each arrangement supplied new challenges and the tunes selected provided the arranger with a diverse experience of styles. The inherent qualities of the melody and harmonic progression of each piece were the primary considerations for selection.

Portfolio of compositions

Van Dijk, Peter Louis, 1953- January 2005 (has links)
Various pagings. Includes programme notes.

The Sixty-Story Man

Bukszpan, David, Bukszpan 04 September 2018 (has links)
No description available.

Saoirse Hamasaki and the Banshee of Achill

Ohliger, John M. 22 May 2023 (has links)
No description available.

Teaching for Rhetorical and Civic Transfer: Iterative Definition Building to Promote Reflection on Key Terms

Tabor, Laura 14 July 2015 (has links)
No description available.

Breathe: A Novel

Gerren, Emily 12 May 2016 (has links)
No description available.

Six Stories

Silver, James 11 May 2016 (has links)
No description available.

Page generated in 0.1194 seconds