Return to search

A textual analysis of Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award recipients to explore best organizational communication models in American companies

Key elements found in areas of organizational commnication which develop into the foundational structure for the comprehensive list of best practices for communication is discerned from the wide array of practices existent in American companies. To remain among the most competitive globally, it is increasingly important to understand how best practices can be utilized to maintain a lead. This can be accomplished by recognizing the importance of American efforts to share knowledge and strategies for competitiveness. The Federal program under the directive of National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) manages a program called the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA).
Using the award summary profiles of the 68 MBNQA recipients, the best practices are studied to reveal the tactics and strategies that influence the best American companies to achieve the highest productivity and successful communication models. The practices measured within the profile summaries of winning organizations are comprehensively packaged for senior leader use in strategic planning and vision deployment.
Exploring reoccurring communication models found in the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Program contributes to the body of knowledge in organizational communication studies; by comprehensively providing the practices used for organizational excellence. The seven principles integral to organizational communication methods employed by top national companies can be categorized by these essential communicative functions: adapting to change, adapting new technology, managing information effectively, mentoring for leadership, organizational culture, performance feedback, and supervisor and employee communication.
MBNQA recipient application profiles principle attributes were calculated by degrees of contribution to the successful application to organizational communication models. Success is identified by the award criteria with regard to aspects of business which exemplify quality improvement in their approach to deployment, integration, and learning. These areas are looked at in terms of relevance to key factors in varied levels concerning strengths, opportunities, and results.
Date01 January 2006
CreatorsMcNally, Sean
PublisherScholarly Commons
Source SetsUniversity of the Pacific
Detected LanguageEnglish
SourceUniversity of the Pacific Theses and Dissertations

Page generated in 0.0113 seconds